2017 Spark! Awards

Spark AwardsCharleston-area marketing, creative and public relations professionals are encouraged to enter the 2017 Spark! Awards, hosted by the Charleston chapter of the American Marketing Association. The deadline for entries is Tuesday, January 31.

The Spark! Awards honor creative and marketing excellence in the Charleston community. Entrants may submit their work in 21 categories, including projects like best print ad, best website and best Facebook presence as well as full campaigns for best event marketing, best non-traditional marketing, best social media and best public relations. The awards contest is open to individuals and companies in the Charleston region and is for work completed in 2016. Entrants do not have to be members of Charleston AMA to enter.

In addition, anyone can nominate a Marketer of the Year. This award recognizes a Charleston-area marketing or PR professional who excels in his or her career while also having a positive impact on the greater Charleston area marketing community.

Finalists will be selected from each category, and the winners will be announced at the Spark! Awards presentation on Thursday, March 9.

The entry fee is $30 for one entry, $50 for two entries, $70 for three entries, $90 for four entries and $100 for five or more entries. All entries are free for Charleston AMA members. Details and entry forms at available at For questions, email

Past Spark! Winners

2014 Spark! winners

  • Best Business to Consumer Integrated Campaign: Trio Solutions for its work on the Children’s Discovery Center integrated campaign.

  • Best Design Print: College of Charleston for its ads “Welcome to Class”

  • Best Design Collateral: Andrew Barton for designing the mailer for the Southeastern Wildlife Exposition

  • Best Design Out of Home: College of Charleston for “Gateways”

  • Best Design Digital: 2013 Charleston Wine + Food Festival

  • Best Non-Traditional Campaign: Le Crueset for “Pass it On Potluck”

  • Best Special Event Campaign: Touchpoint Communications for its work on ArtFields

Charleston AMA also awarded graphic designer Andrew Barton as its AMA Volunteer of the Year. Barton has been instrumental in volunteering his graphic design skills for Charleston AMA marketing projects and events. Andressa Chapman was honored at the 2014 Marketer of the Year. Sponsors included the Charleston Regional Business Journal as a media sponsor and restaurant Rue de Jean as an event sponsor.

2012 Spark! winners

  • Dynamite: Excellence for a Special Event – Levelwing for its 2011 Super Bowl campaign for Bridgestone Tires.
  • Blaze: Best in Design for Digital – Levelwing for its Special Forces campaign.
  • Blaze: Best in Design for Print – Motley Rice for its Texpers campaign.

The Marketer of the Year Award went to Steve Parker Jr., co-founder and managing partner for Levelwing. Parker was recognized for his work in creating The Collective for Good, a nonprofit industry collaboration in which digital media professionals (media, technology, agency partners) unite to bring awareness to a charitable organization each year at mass scale. The Collective partners with the charity directly, providing industry expertise and strategic guidance to help the organization achieve their foundational objectives. In its inaugural season, the Collective joined forces with the Children of Domestic Violence, a philanthropic organization that will be truly transformed by the Collective’s involvement and industry knowledge.

Charleston AMA also recognized a Volunteer of the Year, Tim Marsac of Carolina Hydrologics, for his work with the Membership Committee.

2011 Spark! winners

Each fall the Charleston AMA recognizes outstanding marketing work and outstanding marketing professionals at its Spark! Awards. In 2011, local marketers gathered to congratulate Spark! winners: Levelwing, Visiture and Charleston Wine + Food Festival.